Stuck in the middle seat? Use Expertflyer to help you get out!

Now for those of you that don’t know, I really enjoy traveling.  Fortunately my career currently allows me to book my travel far in advance and I have elite status with American Airlines, so I don’t really worry about sitting in a middle seat, but it is a common problem for my friends so I thought that I’d share this great resource.

Expertflyer is a pay for service that allows you to check award space/flight availability and even see seat maps for a low monthly price, with discounts if you purchase an annual package.  They have 2 paid options a $4.99/mo option (you get 200 searches) or a $9.99 option (unlimited searches monthly).  I’ll get more into these later, but the great part about it is that they also have a free seat alert, all you have to do is sign up for an account.

Enter all of your information…

Now all you need to do is go to http://www.expertflyer.com and sign up for an account.  Then click seat maps.  Here, you’ll enter basic information about your flight, the origin, destination, airline, and flight number and date and voila you’ve got a seat map for your flight.  Now I’ve picked an example for a friend where this isn’t a single aisle or window seat available, with the exception of premium seats.  Now if you were to click any aisle seat or any window seat and set-up an alert, expertflyer will continue to check for availability and send you an e-mail when a seat is available.  At that point you can log in to your reservation and simply change the seat!

Happy Distractions and Seat Picking!*

*Note, I am in no way affiliated with Expertflyer, I think they have a great service and I’m happy to simply share this information with my friends.

This entry was posted in Information and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

